Monthly Archives: July 2012

Winners announced and publication date amended

The successful writers who entered the Science Fiction competition have now been informed and the prizes issued.

The winner is Julian Gyll-Murray for his story, If Only You Could See Yourself.

Second prize has been awarded to Tom C B Williams for his entry, ANNA.

The other writers to be published are (in random order):

  • Moya Green:    Consider the Ant
  • Myles Glenvar:    Uncle Fintan’s Theremi
  • Tuan Ho:    A Moment in Time
  • Hayley Chewins:    Johannesburg
  • Sara-Mae Tuson:    The Time Hoarder
  • Ian Richardson:    Women and Children First
  • Callum Henderson:    The Zoo
  • Jude Parsons:    Devil’s Advocate
  • Susan May Oke:    Heart to Heart
  • Dean Waters:    My Case of Penile Over Significance and Its Misdiagnosis on Your Planet
  • Stefan Stanchev:    The Catalyst
  • Lynn Christine Nickols:    A Future World
  • Pat Black:    Arrow of the Gods
  • Maurice Sketchley:    The Ideal Candidate
  • David Penfold:    Creation
  • Brian Edginton:    Ichneumons and Alpha Grubs
  • Malcolm Bray:    Penultimate Stand

The publication of the anthology has been put back to 31st August.

We realise this is disappointing but the decision has been taken due to difficulties in contacting some writers during the summer period, where changes to the texts, names to be published or biographies have been necessary.

Unfortunately, not all entries could be published but the standard of applications was high and a great deal of time and effort were clearly taken by the writers.

We hope that those who were not successful will not be discouraged as, even among the unpublished stories, there was evidence of imagination and writing skill.

More details about the anthology and the writers will appear here over the coming weeks.


Leave a comment

Filed under Rules